

## **Women of Achievement Award**

In November 2019, Zonta International celebrates a century of working together to improve the lives of women and girls through service and advocacy.

In 2016, Zonta International District 16 (comprising Zonta Clubs throughout New Zealand) recognised 50 Women of Achievement. This was in celebration of the 50th anniversary of Zonta in New Zealand. These 50 women, ranging from household names to quiet achievers, included former Prime Ministers Helen Clarke and Dame Jenny Shipley, Dr Marilyn Warring, Heather Henare, Dame Margaret Sparrow, Cherry Raymond, Dr Farah Palmer, Holly Mathieson, Sharmila Pathak, Lesley Elliot and Louise Nicholas.

District 16 now wishes to celebrate Zonta International's centennial by identifying and celebrating the contribution of a further 50 Women of Achievement. These Women of Achievement are New Zealand women who have empowered women and girls within New Zealand and/or globally. These women may be well known within your local area, a household name or a quiet achiever.

Nomination forms are available from <a href="www.zonta.org.nz">www.zonta.org.nz</a> under Awards. Nominations can be made direct to the Zonta Awards Committee at <a href="zontawoa@outlook.co.nz">zontawoa@outlook.co.nz</a> or through one of the 28 Zonta Clubs throughout New Zealand. Nominations close midnight, 30 April 2019.

The Awards will be announced on 8 November 2019, the global date to recognise Zonta's centennial.

For further information please contact the award convenor, Barbara Pope, <a href="mailto:zontawoa@outlook.co.nz">zontawoa@outlook.co.nz</a>