In November 2019, Zonta International celebrates a century of working together to improve the lives of women and girls through service and advocacy.

In 2016, Zonta International District 16 (comprising Zonta Clubs throughout New Zealand) recognised 50 Women of Achievement. This was in celebration of the 50th anniversary of Zonta in New Zealand.  District 16 now celebrates Zonta International’s centennial by identifying and celebrating the contribution of a further 50 Women of Achievement. These Women of Achievement are New Zealand women who have empowered women and girls within New Zealand and/or globally. These women may be well known within your local area, a household name or a quiet achiever.

Nominations for this Award were called for and the recipients selected by a selection panel.

The Awards, announced on 8 November 2019, the global date to recognise Zonta’s centennial, were presented to:

Denise Arnold Janet Hope Tuaiwa “Eva” Rickard
Dame Susan Bagshaw Dr Janette Irvine Denise Ritchie
Minnie Baragwanath Ang Jury Dr Lauren Roche
Dr Zhiyan Basharati Barbara Kendall Nicole Smit
Professor Virginia Braun Sharryn Kingan Maureen Steven
Hahna Briggs Lydia Ko Ailsa Stewart
Dame Margaret Brimble Jan Logie Annah Stretton
Colleen Brown Lizzie Marvelly Dr Edna Tait
Dame Diana Crossan Dame Lesley Max Andree Talbot
Souella Cumming Gina McJorrow Dr Amama Thornley
Sarah Davis Karen Mitchell Lisa Tumahai
Julie Dockrill Rebecca Morahan Eileen Von Dadelszen
Gail Donald Charlotte Muggeridge Beverley Ward
Theresa Gattung Kahira-Rata Olley Dr Judy Whitcombe
Lynette Grave Mary O’Regan Debbie Whiteley
Karen Guililand Michelle Pleydell Dr Pushpa Wood
Julie Hart Anjum Rahman


Click here for more information about each Women of Achievement 2019.


In 2016 the following women were recognised as Women of Achievement:


Julie Ainsworth Professor Jean Fleming Terry Scott
Lynne Anderson Nicola Gavey Dame Jenny Shipley
Gretl Bass Fiona Harnett Beverley Shore-Bennett
Deborah Bush Heather Henare Anthea Simock
Rachel Callender Catherine Hollister-Jones Dame Margaret Sparrow
Dame Silvia Cartwright Phillippa Jacobs Barbara Stewart
Steve Chadwick Joan Macdonald Tracey Swanberg
Marina Charlton Holly Mathieson Joan Swift
Helen Clark Diane Maxwell Barbara Thompson
Vi Cottrell Lynn McKenzie Maxelyn Tudman
Sandra Curd Louise Nicholas Celia Wade-Brown
Lynn Dawson Dr Farah Palmer Professor Marilyn Waring
Dame Miriam Dell Win Parkes Angela Warren-Clarke
Vanisa Dhiru Sharmila Pathak Janet Williams
Lesley Elliott Kerry Petrie Adrienne Wylie
Dr Jilly Evans Julie Raine Beatrice Yates
Sonia Faulkner Cherry Raymond


Click here for more information about each Women of Achievement 2016.


For further information please contact the award convenor, Barbara Pope,

Download Resources

D16 Women of Achievement Award 2019 – Media Release – 8 November 2019

8th November 2019 Download File

– Women of Achievement –

14th January 2019 Download File

Women of Achievement 2019 Nomination Form FINAL

14th January 2019 Download File

Zonta NZ Women of Achievement 2019 – Media Release

19th September 2018 Download File

Suffrage 125

19th September 2018 Download File
  Click here to view older resources